Get started with shared drives

1. Set up a shared drive

Next: 2. Add files and folders

You can use this feature only if your organization supports it. For help, contact your administrator.

""

" "

Start by setting up a shared drive and adding members.

1.1 Create a shared drive""

  1. Open Google Drive.
  2. On the left, click Shared drives.
  3. At the top, click New"".
  4. Enter a name and click Create.

Create a shared drive

1.2 Add members and set access levels

""

You can add people with a Google account as members of a shared drive. New members are givenContent manager access, but you can change a member's access level.

Note: Give members who need to edit files in Google Drive for desktop Content manager access.

Permission Manager Content manager Contributor Commenter Viewer
Can view files and folders ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔
Can comment on files ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔
Can edit files ✔ ✔ ✔
Can create and add files, can create folders ✔ ✔ ✔
Can add people and groups to specific files ✔ ✔ ✔
Can restore files from the Trash (up to 30 days) ✔ ✔ ✔
Can move files from My Drive to a shared drive ✔ ✔ ✔
Can move files and folders to the Trash ✔ ✔
Can move files and folders within a shared drive ✔ ✔
Can add people and groups to specific folders in a shared drive ✔
Can move files from one shared drive to another shared drive ✔
Can add or remove members of a shared drive ✔
Can change member access levels ✔
Can permanently delete files in the Trash ✔

Add members and set access levels:

Requires Manager access

  1. On your computer, go to drive.google.com.
  2. At the left, click Shared drives and double-click one of your shared drives.
  3. At the top, click Manage members.
  4. Add names, email addresses, or a Google Group.

    New members must have a Google account. By default, new members are Content managers. They can upload, edit, move, or delete all files.

  5. To change:
    • Permissions for a new member, click the Down arrow Down arrow and choose an option.
    • Whether new members get notified, click Notify people.
  6. Click Send.

Add members to a team drive

1.3 Change member access levels""

Set access levels for members

1.4 Remove members

""

Requires Manager access

  1. On the left, click a shared drive.
  2. At the top, next to the shared drive name, click the Down arrow "" and then Manage members.
  3. Next to a member's name, click the Down arrow "" and select Remove member.
  4. Click Done.

Note: If you remove someone from a shared drive, they might still have access to files shared in other ways, such as files shared with everyone in your organization by link or through a group.

Remove members

Next: 2. Add files and folders

Was this helpful?

How can we improve it?